The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument appeared in a newspaper editorial and it claims that the autonomy of a country is dependent on the strength of its borders and if the number of illegal immigrants cannot be checked then the country will lose its economy and national identity, due to which these immigrants must be returned to their country of origin. The argument is rife with fallacies and unwarranted assumptions which if proven otherwise are likely to weaken the argument. Here are the three most dubious assumptions which if proven to be false are more likely to weaken the argument.

First of all, it is assumed that the autonomy of a country is only based on the strength of its borders. It might be possible that the autonomy of a country is based on several factors such as the dependence of a country on other nations on a global level, the government in power, the economy of the country, etc. If a country is highly dependent on a foreign country for crude oil, nuclear power plants, etc. then the country's autonomy would be weakened even more since it is not able to keep up with the technological advancements of the world. If the government in power, imposes strict restrictions on the people then, the country would resemble an autocratic nation which would weaken its autonomy even further as the people have no free will. If any of these possibilities are true then it would weaken the argument as the autonomy of a country is being affected more by some other problems which a country is being plagued with rather than the entry of illegal immigrants.

Secondly, it is assumed that illegal immigrants only endanger a country's economy and national identity. It might be possible that they may be fleeing from a dictatorial rule in the hope of starting their life over and are unlikely to threaten the national identity as they themselves will be looking to create an identity of their own. It might be possible that they actually contribute to a country's economy by agreeing to do work at lower rates as compared to the citizens which might give a boost to the economy of the nation. It might be possible that the immigrants are looking to familiarize themselves with the country's culture, festivals, traditions, language, etc. which would suggest that they are looking to be a part of the country and contribute to its growth and development instead of threatening it. If any of these possibilities are true, then they would weaken the argument as they might not be looking to threaten the nation's identity and economy but actually become a part of it and support it.

Thirdly, it is assumed that the number of illegal immigrants entering a country is significant and the border patrol is incapable of stopping any of them from entering the county. It might be possible that a country is surrounded by water on three sides and has only one neighbouring nation which would limit the number of illegal immigrants coming into the nation and would also decrease the chances of the border patrol not being able to stop them. It might be possible that a nation has one of its most fierce and intimidating soldiers manning the border along with some advanced artillery weapons which would be a natural deterrent for illegal immigrants trying to enter the country. If any of these possibilities is true then it would weaken the argument as the number of illegal immigrants who do manage to enter would be insignificant and unlikely to pose any threat to a country's economy and national identity.

In conclusion, I would like to add that the argument as it stands is based on a number of unwarranted assumptions and to evaluate it further, evidence needs to be provided which can substantiate these assumptions.