The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

The assumption of this newspaper editorial states that is that the self sufficiency of a nation relies on its ability to keep out illegal immigrants. It further supposes that its economy and national identity are linked to the indeterminate number of illegal residents and therefore they should be return to where they came from. There is no basis for this correlation.

A strong national identity can hardly challenged by immigration legal or otherwise. Many first world powers, like the United States, Great Britain, Germany, have large immigrant workforces and very strong national pride. The power position of an illegal immigrant is not one they can boast about so they must lay low to survive. How then could they threaten or challenge country's self-image?

It has been shown that immigrate stake the jobs that are not filled by the existing labor force. Service industries jobs in the janitorial arts, food sector and manual labor are often fulfilled by immigrants will to work for less wages and tougher labor conditions. The lower cost of labor so they do not pose a threat but rather contribute economically to a country's power. This power enhances national identity.

Returning immigrants to their place of origin is an impractical idea. If a country cannot figure out who has come in, how can they send those people back? The resources needed to figure this out would be better spent on examine the pull factor for such people to cross boarders.

In sum, the editorial's recommendation to return immigrants to their point of origin can be support by them being a threat as no substantial evidence of such is presented. It also fails to adequately make the cast that strong borders are what make a country autonomous.