The following is an excerpt from a letter sent by the principal of Greenwood School to the parents of all incoming kindergartners.

"We have decided to institute a policy of all-day kindergarten, instead of half-day kindergarten, for all students at Greenwood School. All-day kindergarten will help all our students achieve at their highest levels. The classes will be 'tracked'; so that average students are together, but high-achieving and low-achieving students will be put together in classes. In this way, the high-achieving students will be able to help pull the low-achieving students up to their level, so that no student falls behind. The all-day kindergarten classes will cover the same material previously covered in the half-day kindergarten classes, but will go at a slower speed to accommodate learning differences. In addition, the students will receive extra instruction in music, art, and physical education. One of the greatest benefits of the plan, however, is that students will be in a structured environment for longer hours, reducing the numbers of hours that otherwise would be wasted at home or in day care."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The principal of Greenwood School informs parents of kindergarteners about the latest changes in the school policies such as the timing and the pace of the school's new curriculum.

The first rule change happens to be the timing of the school, from being a half-day to an "all-day" kindergarten. The principal does not specify timings in his letter nor explain how the food breaks are assigned. Whether the food will be provided by the school or if the parents are supposed to send along multiple lunch boxes. Which again adds to the distress of the parents. Proper breaks and nutrition are crucial to the growing, learning kids. Otherwise they would get restless and the whole purpose of education is lost.

While the classes are strategically planned with the segregation, this might result in alienation of the children instead of teaching them to accept each other. They must get the sense of being inclusive and should spend their time harmoniously with each other. But due to the separation, they might feel inadequate and turn introverted, when the parents are hoping for the opposite. This new change could also distance them from their previous peers and that could make them unhappy which would most definitely effect their studies.

The pace of the syllabus taught should be constant while keeping the students in mind, otherwise the standardisation is lost. Each child has different learning capabilities and hence, can not be generalised. Therefore, it is a better idea to keep a standard speed while teaching and offer extra help when required.

Too much of structured environment can also be detrimental to the state of minds of the children. It could hinder them from exploring and experimenting more. What are children if the wonder in their bright eyes is lost?