The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout—which are known to eat amphibian eggs—were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument. The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

In the letter to the editor, the author concludes that the number of amphibians in Xanadu National Park decreased significantly in 2002, citing the introduction of trout in 1975 as the main reason for the decline. The author comes to this contention based on a 1975 census and 2002 observations made in the park. While it might be true that the trout are the reason for the disappearance of amphibian species in the park, before we can adequately assess the validity of the argument, the author needs to provide three pieces of additional evidence.

For starters, the author needs to provide evidence that the 1975 census was done correctly, thus the results from the census are valid. For instance, the census could be conducted by a group of high-school students where they could mistakenly classify non-amphibian species with amphibians. In addition, it is possible that, even if the species classified as amphibians are true, the census was not scientifically correct, so there is a lot of erroneous enumerations in the data. If both of these two scenarios were proven to be accurate, the persuasiveness of the author’s argument would be hampered.

Furthermore, the author has to provide evidence that the disappearance and decline of amphibian populations were due to the introduction of trout in the park. However, this might not be the case. Like other amphibians outside Xanadu National Park, it is probable that the diminishing amount of amphibians was because the water and air in the national park were highly contaminated. Moreover, even if the introduction of trout in the park threatens the amphibian populations, the author needs to provide that trout actually significantly harm the number of amphibians. What if there is not enough amount of trout in the park to justify the disappearance of amphibian species in Xanadu? These missing pieces of evidence could diminish the validity of the author’s contention.

Finally, the author assumes that the amphibians and its eggs occupy the same area of the park as the trout. It is probable that the staff working in the park, knowing that the introduction of trout could harm the population of amphibian species in the long run, deliberately separate the two into different areas of the park from the inception. It could also be possible that, even if they share the same environment, the workers separate the amphibians eggs to a different place in order to prevent them from being devoured by trout. Without providing evidence that these scenarios were false, the author’s conclusion would be considerably weaken.

In conclusion, although the writer’s assertion might hold water, he/she has to provide additional evidence to cast any doubt that would weaken their persuasiveness.