The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"Two studies of amphibians in Xanadu National Park confirm a significant decline in the numbers of amphibians. In 1975 there were seven species of amphibians in the park, and there were abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. One proposed explanation is that the decline was caused by the introduction of trout into the park's waters, which began in 1975. (Trout are known to eat amphibian eggs.)"

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author claims that the number of amphibians have declined drastically and only four species of amphibians were spotted, earlier there were seven species. These explanations arise due to introduction of trout into the Xanadu National Park's water in 1975 and trout are known to eat amphibian eggs. However, before author's explanation are accounted for the fact presented in the argument, some alternative explanation must also be considered.

To begin with, which amphibian species were not observed? There are amphibians that not only lay eggs in water but they also lay eggs on land. Turtle, who are amphibians, are known to lay eggs on land. In this scenario, trout cannot eat eggs of turtle, consequently, turtles were not spotted in the park. Thus the author's argument of trout eating the eggs of amphibians does not hold water.

Moreover, are there any exotic species of amphibians in park, which may attract poachers? It may happen that park has some exotic species of amphibians, which has a lot of value in black market. Poachers, who want to earn money, may kill these amphibians or smuggle them to sell. If this scenario has merit, then the author's explanation of trout being the reason for decline in amphibians number and species would be false.

Finally, was there any bush fire or some water pollutant in Xanadu National Park? Every year, there are cases reported of bush fire worldwide, which turns into conflagration and large area of forest or national parks are burnt down. In this scenario, the amphibians who might be on land may have killed in fire. On the other hand, report of water contamination, if happened in the park was not mentioned. The amphibians, who are susceptible to such pollutants may also die. If the above is true, the author's claim would be weakened or negated.

To recapitulate, author presents an interesting but a flawed argument and has failed to consider more alternative explanations for his claims. Had he provided more explanations as mentioned above, the argument would have been persuasive. As it remains, the author's argument is too weak to be true. Hence, I remain unconvinced.