The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout—which are known to eat amphibian eggs—were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The issue on animal conservation is as timely as ever. Recently, an editor of an environmental magazine has shown that there was a drastic decline in the variety as well as number of species of amphibians in Xanadu national park. The author of the argument suggests that this plummet of the amphibian species is due to the introduction of trout into the park. Though this issue on eliminating the trout for conservation of amphibians in xanadu has some merit, due to lack of proper evidence and weak assumptions the author's argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

First, the author of the argument has mentioned that the trout eats amphibian eggs. He considered that the trout was kept near the amphibian species. But this may not be true, the amphibians species habitat in the national park might be at different place compared to the trout habitat. If he clearly has an evidence of trout eating the amphibian eggs, then his conclusion would have been plausible.

Second, the author did not mention that there is no pollution of the water and air in the areas of Xanadu national park. He stated that most of the amphibian species have been died due to the global pollution, so this can also be one of the major reason for the decline of the amphibians in the Xanadu national park. Thus, decline in the species may be possible only due to the pollution of the environment and not due to the trout's.

Third, the author's assumption of the trout being responsible for eating the amphibian eggs is doubtful. If he adds the information about the number of trout's present in the national park and the average number of eggs which they eat, then the reasoning would be more complete. Otherwise, a lot of other situations such as due to improper availability of food for the amphibians and lack of proper care from the management of the national park could also be the reasons for their decline.

Despite the argument's flaws the author could strengthen his position by including the details of the environment conditions in the areas of national park from 1975 to 2002, and also by mentioning that the habitat locations of both amphibian species and trout's. If he gives additional details such as the number of amphibian species expatiated by the trout's due to eating their eggs could improve the author's reasoning and supports his conclusion. However, without adding all the above statements the author's conclusion will be implausible.

In sum, thus the authors argument is having a lot of flaws and we can cast doubt upon his argument due to lack of evidence about the habitat locations , statistical data of the amphibian eggs killed due to trout's as well as the environmental conditions of the xanadu area. He should also mention about the food availability for the amphibians in the forest, and also about the proper maintenance of the habitats of different animals in the forest by the authorities. Thus by including all these information we can come to a conclusion.