The following is a letter to the editor of the Waymarsh Times.

"Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute now takes closer to 40 minutes, according to the survey just completed. Members of the town council already have suggested more road building to address the problem, but as well as being expensive, the new construction will surely disrupt some of our residential neighborhoods. It would be better to follow the example of the nearby city of Garville. Last year Garville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work, giving them coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Garville have dropped since the policy was implemented, and people from Garville tell me that commuting times have fallen considerably. There is no reason why a policy like Garville's shouldn't work equally well in Waymarsh."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author states that there are traffic problem in the Waymarsh and new policy has been proposed to address this issue but the author argues that in some other city a different policy has been implemented to address similar kind of issue and such policy should fit better in the Waymarsh city rather than the current policy which has been proposed. At first glance, this argument looks logical but if assessed carefully, this author's argument based on assumptions and rife with flaws.

First of all, the author assumes that the current road building proposal would disrupt the residential neighbourhoods. But did there any survey take place where it evaluates this problem? if there are any chances of disruption how much is it? The author did not provide here that information. The author needs to answer those questions to support his claim. Maybe it is the author's own imagination that disrupt may happen or maybe it is a very small area where disrupt may happen which is negligible.

Secondly, the author compares a policy which has been implemented in Garville city. But we do not have any information about the type of two cities. It is possible that both the cities are completely different in nature and the policy which was implemented in Granville cannot be done in Waymarsh. We need more information about those two cities to state the fact that the policy which was implemented in Granville will work better in Waymarsh as well.

Furthermore, in this argument, the author states people of Garville told him that the commuting times have fallen considerably. But we do not know the number of people. The author did not give any information from how many people he got that information. Maybe the number of people is very less and probably the policy only worked for their favor but for the majority of the people it did not make any difference or maybe the new policy made other people's situation even worse. In this case, such the information is inaccurate.

Lastly, Author's claim that the building new road is expensive but is it more expensive than providing free gas coupons which are implemented in Garville city. We do not have any information about this. And also author says pollution levels of Granville city have dropped after the new policy implementation. But the author did not provide any statistics from where he got that information. Maybe he is referring to some wrong source where it shows pollution levels have dropped but actually, nothing happened or maybe it became worse.

To conclude, maybe author's claim is correct but to prove his claim as valid he needs to provide certain information and answer above queries. Without further information, it can not be stated that the policy which was introduced in Garville will work better in Waymatsh than the proposed one.