The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meal

The parent argues that students will bring their own food due to lack of food options, but the parent forgets to ask if the school has chosen this limited option routine due to concerns pertaining to the cost or any recommendations from medical study done on these students. Without considering such details it would improper to blame Swift for not providing more number of options to the students. To decide better on changing the vendor the parent can bring a forum to discuss the viability of adding more food options and can take the opinion of their children for the same.

Given that the reasons are noble while considering Swift, the parent

can compare the quality of food that was served by the previous vendor and competing vendors because, if the competing vendor does not provide food of desired quality or nutrition content the recommendation made by the parent to replace the vendor may not serve the purpose. Another question that arises is what was the type of food that was brought by students before Swift was introduced? Did the children who brought their own food suffer from serious health consequences or was their food unhealthy? Without answering such questions the parent seems to have hurried with his recommendation.

Parents who are the cares takers of their children are the one who ensure discipline and if the school finds that the food brought by students previously was detrimental to their growth, it is essential to follow the diet provided by Swift. In order to provide proper incentives for children to take up the lunch in school, the parent can look for ways in which the students can juggle some portion of home cooked meal or additional meal which is tastier with the meal provided by Swift.

The claim made by the parent cannot be supported from the points mentioned and any alternative vendor could have effect worse effects than Swift