The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. This shows that eating a substantial amount of fish can clearly prevent colds. Furthermore, since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, attendance levels will improve. Therefore, we recommend the daily use of a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The statement states that a memo has been appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria which states that the absenteeism in the schools and workplaces has to be reduced. As citizens of East Meria tend to consume more fish due to which their people do not catch cold frequently, therefore, same methodology of consuming higher fish should be opted by the population of the West Meria. Moreover, the cases of cold are more frequently given as the reasons for absences from school and workplaces in West Meria, therefore, consuming products with fish oil might increase the attendance. The statement provided by the author in the arguement has tried to provide the enough information so that an answer should be obtain but there are no enough facts and numbers to support the statement. Hence, number of assumptions can be easily drawn from the statement which are presented in the essay.

Firstly, the author has only mentioned about the high consumption of fish in the East Meria. There is no exact comparison in the number or percentages of the fish consumed in both of the states. It might be possible that due to higher population people of East Meria consume higher amounts of fish then West Meria people. It might be a possibilty that workout routine of people of East Meria is better than West Meria due to their immunity levels are higher and do not catch cold easily. Other significant factors are not discussed by the author that could lead to the more specific answer.

Secondly, the other reasons for absenteeism besides cold are not discussed in the argument by the author. Proper numbers should be provided so that the conclusion could be easily drawn. For instance, it might be a possibilty that 55 percent of the absences are due to the cold and the other 45 percent accounts for other illness, this can falsified the memo. There's also a possibility that 90 percent absences are due to cold then the statement might be easilty summarized. But due to the absense of no numeric data can lead to the confusion in arriving at the conclusion of the statement.

Thirdly, it might be possible that in East Meria cold might not be a prominent reason for the absence of the people from school and workplaces, then other diseases should be the reason for it. Therefore, there are no proper grounds for the comparison between the two cities as they can differ in population, climatic conditions, eating habits of the people and so on.

Lastly, as data given in the statement can be easily fabricated without no proper numeric information until then no conclusion can be made whether by increasing the content of fish oil in the daily habits can lead to the decline in the number of absenteeism from West Meria.