The following memo was published by the Welzaton City Commission.

“A recent nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a safety helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, cites a 200 percent increase in the number of serious accidents involving bicycles during the same period. Meanwhile, results of a local survey of frequent bicycle riders indicate that 75 percent of those riders feel “much safer” on busy roads when they wear helmets than when they don’t. Clearly, the best explanation for the rise in bicycle-related accidents is that bicyclists take more risks now than they did ten years ago because they feel safer when they are wearing helmets.”

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the memo has alleged that wearing a helmet for riding a bicycle lead to increasing the number of serious accident in the city. Although the reasons that the writer provided looks cogent at the first glance, when we delve deeper into his or her reasoning we could find that the memo rests on several assumptions and holes. If all of which could be challenged, the argument falls apart. I could not accept the proposed reasoning as it is for three reason which I explain now.

First of all, the author assumes that the situation of the city did not changed during the past 10 years. He or she compare the information of two different periods with each other without presenting any reason for it. He assumed that the population of bicycle riders of the area is constant during ten years whereas it is possible that due to encoraging of different organizations for exercise the numbe of them would change. If this is the case, then, comparing the number of serious accident would be absurd. Instead of that, in order to improve the argument, the author could compare the fraction of serious accident to the whole number of rider to give more sense to readers.

Moreover, even if the number of riders would be constant during the 10 years, again we could not accept the argument because the author mentioned three different survey that were conducted by different organizations and different scope. The plusibility of these survey in under question. Did the survey conduct on scientific methods? What was the scope of each one? To make the argument more persuasive for readers, the authir should answer above questions and provide some additional information about surveys.

Finally, even if all of the surveys hold in true conditions and scientific method, again the reader could not accept the conclusion of the argument. He presumes the only possile reason for this evidence is that bicycle rider feel safer when they wear helmet, so, they make more risk that it lead to more serious accident. Though this reason my hold true, the author did not consider about other possibilities. For instance, it may during ten years the number of vehicles would have increased, therefore, streets are less safe for bicycle riders. If this is the case, the writer could compare the number of vehicles and situations of street in two periods to eliminate other possibilities.

To sum up, although the conclusion of the argument may hold true, the author fails to provide adequate reasons and evidences to presuade the readers. In order to make the memo more cogent, the author could provide some additional information to remove other possibilities or unclear situation such as more information about the surveys, number of vehicles in two mentioned periods.