The following memo was published by the Welzaton City Commission A recent nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a safety helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets whe

The memo published by Welzaton City Commission states that 10 years ago 35 percent of bicyclists wore helmets and recently that number has risen upto 80%, despite this there has been a 200% increase in serious bike accidents, according to the memo this is because 75% of the cyclists feel safer when wearing a helmet and in turn end up taking more risks. This explanation while completely logical isn't necessarily true, there are a number of alternative explanations that can better account for the rise in bicycle accidents.

It is possible that in the last few years the number of cars on the road has increased drastically, increase in the traffic of motor vehicles can contribute towards the rise in serious bike accidents, since accidents involving only bicycles are rarely serious. Accidents with cars on other hand are almost always ones that cause serious injuries.

Another possible explanation is that the serious accidents that take place mostly involve cyclist who don't wear helmets and aren't that keen on safety in the first place. This would easily debunk the theory stating that cyclist get into accidents because helmets make them feel safer than they are.

Also, if we look at the statistics closely, a 200% increase sounds much more dramatic than it actually is, for example: if 10 years ago there were 5 serious bicycle accidents per week, then a 200% increase would mean that the number has now increased to 15, which isn't a lot considering that the number of people who ride bicycles has also increased in the past 10 years.

According to the memo, the increase in serious bicycle accidents is because 75% of the cyclists feel safer when wearing a helmet and take more risks. But this explanation fails to take into account the increase in other motor vehicles on the road and whether the bicyclists getting into accidents are the ones wearing helmets in the first place. Additionally a statistical analysis reveals that a 200% increase isn't that high when considering that the total number of cyclist has also increased drastically.