The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. "

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation (s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The statement alleges that customers of Happy Pancake House restaurants could not find the difference between butter and margarine and replacing butter with margarine have small change in their costumers. While the statement looks reliable at first glance, the reasons which are provided are rife of problems and flaws and I will discuss now.

The first reason of the author is that this change have little impact on the customers and just 2 percent complain about that. 2 percent could be really big number for this issue due to the fact that some people prefer to not mention any thing about the quality of the food but they would not come back to the restaurant. In addition, they may suggest their friend that avoid this restaurant and lead to huge consequences.

Another reason that the statement presents is that a survey was held between 100 person but it do not mention any additional detail about the method of the study. Maybe this survey was held by specific persons which are going to accept the situations or just men or it is possible that the age range was limited. All of this condition would have affect the result of the survey and may lead to misunderstand of the situations. In order to strengthen the survey, the author could hold a survey with scientific methods that the result would be reasonable and supportive or provide any additional data about the survey which was hold.

Finally, the author of the argument assumes that the customers could not understand the difference of butter and margarine and some of the use the terms instead each others. Since some people prefer to not mention their disapproval and may complaint about that but avid to use this restaurant. In addition some people may not understand the difference but the total taste and smell of the food may change and uncounscincly they try to use another restaurants.

In conclusion, although the writer of the argument assert some reasons to show replacing butter with margarine has small changes on the customers, nonetheless, the author fails to provide sufficient evidences to support that and additional survey is necessary to remove its fallacy.