The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants suggests that to increase the profitability and to avoid the loss the restaurants should use margarine instead of Butter. He comes to this conclusion based on the several data including a server report. The manager contention might prove true. However, as it stands now, the manager recommendation rests upon three unwarranted assumption which significantly hinders the recommendations credibility.

First of all, the manager presumes that southwestern United states is similar to that of north east, but this might not be true. It is possible that, southwestern people are very rich people who have the money to go to the restaurant eat the butter, while the people in northeast are poor people who do not have enough money to eat in a restaurant. It is also possible the people of the northeast like to go out for food cause the online delivery of other food item are not good. On the other hand the people of southeast have the luxury to get well food in online delivery service. If either of the scenarios are true, then the author contention to extend margarine instead of butter doesn't hold water.

Secondly, the author assumes 98% of people who do not complain have the opportunity to complain, but this might not be true. It is possible that there was not any complaining options available for them to complain hence they did not complain. It is also possible that people got so much angry about alternative food that they thought of eating for their last time hence they did not complain and leave the restaurant for good. If either of the scenarios are true, then author recommendations are significantly weakened.

Finally, the author assumes that the report of the server is plausible, but this might not be the case. It is possible that the server are not telling the truth for the sake of getting a rest. For example, it is possible the demand of butter is really high, and due to high amount of customer the server want to get rid of the customer and hence they lied in report in order to reduce the customer. If this scenario is true, then author's contention to use margarine instead of butter is significantly weakened.

To conclude, the director may be correct in suggesting a alternative decision for business. However, his recommendation is rests upon three unwarranted assumption. If he can provide answer to this problem it will enhance the assertions credibility.