The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The prompt argues that the customers either can not distinguish the differences between butter and margarine or they refer the term "butter" for both. Looking at the logical reasonigs provided by the manager, it might not be the case because of some ambiguities in the assumptions stated below -

1. The manager assumed that the customer are vocal regarding the alternation between butter and margarine.

2. The customers are pretty hyperbole reagarding their demands.

3. The replacement of butter with margarine will be a long lasting one.

The asssumptions are to be clarified before coming to any conclusion.

First of all - the manager believed that the customers; they are serving to, are highly vocal regarding their demands or requisites. He thought that as the only 2 percent of the customers have complained against this alteration, so the other 98 percent are happy with it or most possible could not distinguish the difference. But the manager is missing a point here- what if the other 98 percent are cogent enough to distinguish the tastes as well as are not happy at all with this change - but they are not vocal regarding their demands. Meant to say - majority of them are the people who are not pretty much interested to file complain against this. Even the case might be like, after while, the customers of the Happy Pancake restaurants might choose other restaurants, more suitable to their tastes. Then the argument of the manager will hold no values as he will start to loose his customers - meaning the change has been of great impact.

Another one is that - which is kind of derivative of the first one mentioned previously - there has been no mention of proper time or at least the time from when the replacement of butter with margarine is done. It is because depending on the time the criticality of the manager's argument can be judged. For time being we take the time is very lately as it is said in the prompt that "recently" butter has been replaced by margarine. So what happened is that - if the alteration has been done recently then it might stand a chance that the decision lacks its proper time demand. That is to say - the manager is too much quick in his judgement to say that the replacement has little impact on their customers response. What if most of the customers (apart from the southwestern ones) have not tasted yet. What if the managers did not get sufficient information regarding the changes from other branches of his restaurants,

So, looking at all the factors in overall dimensions, it can be said that the manager should take necesary notes on his provided information as well as clarification of his underlied assumptions before coming to any conclusion.