The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, we predict that Happy Pancake House will be able to increase profits dramatically if we extend this cost-saving change to all our restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The move from butter to margarine at Happy Pancake House restaurants in southwestern United States may inspire other branches in the southeast and northeast to do the same. Pushing for this cost-saving change is the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants who is optimistic that the “apathy” of customers towards this change will not hinder the extension of the change to other regions. While the question of whether this nonchalant sentiment will be duplicated in other regions should be answered as well, more pressing are the questions that need to be answered before the business manager can aver his position on the largely neutral sentiment of its customers.

Post ingredient change, a survey was conducted where only two percent of individuals surveyed complained about the switch to margarine. Evaluating these survey results requires the business manager to disclose further information, such as the size of data pool, neutrality of survey answers, or other options given, without fail. For example, while two percent may have outrightly complained, others may have indicated their slight dislike after tasting the new pancakes by asking for new ones. Others may have remained neutral and hence it cannot be concluded that the rest of the surveyed are happy with the change. Since the options given to the surveyed is not known, we cannot define what these complains consisted of and why other results we not categorised as such. Based on this new information, the number of customers who positively receive the change may be less than previously expected.

Complaisance in being given margarine instead of butter when customers asked for the latter does not indicate dislike for margarine, but neither does it hint at the lack of dislike thereof. Could customers have taken the option given to them out of resignation or hurry? Could customers have decided not to dine at Happy Pancake House instead? How has sales been affected since the change to margarine? Are certain items on the menu less popular than they used to be?

Should customers decide to simply switch to a competitor pancake place that uses butter, profits received by the Happy Pancake House may fall drastically more than costs have been saved by the switch, causing an overall decline in sales and a prediction that falls through.