The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

While it may be true that the recent change of butter to margarine had no impact on customers, the author doesn't make a compelling case for the claim as the argument is filled with holes and assumptions.

Firstly, the author reports the change is made in the southwestern United States, which had little impact on the customers. The author here doesn't make clear the number of restaurants in the region where changes are made. It may be possible that there is only one restaurant in that region. To bolster their claim, the author states that only 2 percent have complained about the change, but fails to mention the survey is of what region it can be of whole the United States, which embark on the possibility that the 2 percent consists mainly the customers in the southwestern part. Therefore unless the survey is of the Southwestern region only and the number of restaurants in the area is mentioned, the two percent of customers can't be a reliable criterion for the feedback.

Additionally, the author mentions that many servers have reported a low amount of complaints about the change, concluding that customers are not bothered by the change or can't tell the changes are made. However, the number of customers who protest about the wrong order is not stated, it is a possibility that the higher number of customers do complain, but in the argument, the amount of complaints is never mentioned. Furthermore, the author concludes that the change is not distinguishable by the customers. That is why they dont complain, failing to recognize the possibility that the customer may not want to reorder again or the servers tell them about the unavailability of butter, and hence they doesn't complain.

Finally, the author state the changes haven't had much impact. Still, the argument doesn't report the decrease or increase in the number of customers after the changes are made. Hence unless the differences in the number of customers is also said, this argument is not considered reliable.