The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument is stating that Happy Pancake House Restaurants has brought about some praiseworthy and profitable changes in the Southwestern United States. They have extend their use og margarine instead of butter largely and got a massive positive response and therefore, planning to extend this product in the Southeast and Northeast as well. To decide whether the recommendation is viable or not we need to search for the following questions.

First of all, are the review of margarine in Southwestern US abundant or well enough to justify such change? This is a mandatory question that is needed to be answered or found out. Because, if the number of the reviewers is not significant enough, it is not worthy to consider that survey as a valid one. May be a few numbers of people just reviewed it or may be some of the review was a paid review. For instance, we can see that many online food service company and restaurants pay their customers or give a decent discount on the product to persuade them to give a positive review about their foods and restaurant.

Secondly, is there as much need of butter in southeast or northeast as Southwestern? If the need of butter varies in the southeast or northeast, the recommendation will result in great failure even possibly can be a loss too. Because, if the taste of the people vary in that region the margarine can not be a profitable substitute of the butter. May be in southeast or in the northeast, the production cost of the butter may not be as expensive like southwestern.

In conclusion, the recommendation will be successful by reviewing or finding the answer of the above questions. The restauramts recommendation as now stands is very vague one. By implementing further queries, the validity of the recommendation might be found.