The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The memorandum asserts that customers are not able to perceive the difference between butter and margarine and they are using same term for both the items. To support the claim, it points out to two evidences namely the recent change from butter to margarine had little impact on the customers and customers do not object to serving margarine when asked for butter. Its chain of reasoning seems true at first sight, however, it is based on certain unwarranted assumptions about comparison between butter and margarine. Therefore, in order to better evaluate the claim and analyse its logical soundness, additional explanation is required that is foundational to the line of reasoning.

First of all, are butter and margarine comparable? In other words, the manager has assumed that there is a significant different between the taste, appearance and health effects of butter and margarine but customers do not heed to the recent change, therefore, assumed to be congruous to this change. However, it may be the case that the taste of butter and margarine is so close to each other that customers’ perception does not recognise it. Thus, they are accepting margarine when asked for butter. Further, it may also be the case that recent scientific study explained the positive effects of consuming margarine instead of butter, thus customers are willing to include margarine in their diet. Thus, they do not object to the servings of margarine and accepting it with no complain when they ordered butter. Therefore, unless these explanations are considered, the claim remains unsupported.

Secondly, are customers aware about margarine? In other words, the manager has assumed that the product margarine is known to customers and they are happy accepting it instead of a butter, thus made no complaints. However, it may be the case that the product margarine is not known to customers at all or its customers are those not familiar with the nuances of butter or margarine. Therefore, they are nonchalant about butter or margarine. Further, it may also be the case that recent changes are not reflecting potential results since changes take time to be noticed or manager has come to his conclusion just after 2 months of implementing this change and in this 2 months, customers has not yet noticed the change, thus their silence is considered as their consent. Therefore, the approach of manager to jump to conclusion immediately after implementing the change cannot support his claim.

Finally, are customer happy? In other words the manager has assumed that people are happy because of complaints filed by only 2 per cent of the customers. However, it may be the case that these 2 per cent represent significant number of customer in absolute terms and is equal to the customers its competitor has. Thus, as these small proportional change of customer starts moving from Happy Pancake to its competitors, it may likely that others would follow suit, this would give opposite results. Further, the term many servers which the manager has assumed may give conflicting results. For example, he may find that servers who reported that customers did not object to margarine are only 51 per cent of the total servers this Pancake has, however, other 49 per cent may have reported that customers actually objected to blatant serving of butter instead of margarine, thus would make his inference on maximum number of servers misleading. Therefore, unless these explanation are provided, the claim is significantly weakened.

Therefore, while concluding, with the lack of comprehensive chain of reasoning, the claim as it stands now is considerably flawed. If the manager is able to offer explanation, perhaps in the form of research study covering the ostensible differences between butter and margarine, awareness among people for these two different products and absolute value of customers objected to this change, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the claim.