The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this statement, the author argues that the the change from butter to margarine does not have a huge impact on the customers. To bolster this, the author cites that only a small portion of customers have complaint about the change and also mentioned that many of them do not complaint when margarine is served instead of butter. However, the argument is tenuous in several aspects.

one of the major problems is that 2 percent of customers does not necessarily mean that the amount of complaint is trivial. it is possible that after the change, the majority of the ones who feel unhappy with that change decided to have no more visit to this restaurant. thus, it might be that the manager only asked the opinions from the remaining customers who do not strongly reject the use of margarine, which leads to a biased result. Moreover, even though the data about 2 percent is reliable, the manager does not mention the base number of their customers. it is possible that they asked opinions from 1000000 customers, and 2 percent of 10000 is 20000, which means that a significant amount of people are unsatisfied with the change.

The manager’s report about the amount of complaints received by the servers is also dubious. perhaps margarine is much cheaper than butter and in order to rationalize the switch, the manager did not authentically state the number of complaints. also what exact number does the word ‘many’ refer to? it is possible that the manager coincidentally asked only those servers who did not encounter customers’ rants. Since the manager did not conduct a thorough and comprehensive survey that include every servers working in Happy Pancake House restaurants, it is unjustifiable to make the conclusion that the customers feel indifferent between butter and margarine and assert that the impact is little.

it is also untenable to assume that customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the same word to refer to either butter or margarine only because there were few complaints reported. it is possible that some customers did not explicitly show their dissatisfaction; perhaps they complaint with their friends or in their minds. also the assumption that the impact of the change from butter to margarine on consumers is trivial is not substantiated. because consuming artificial butter for a long period of time is undeniable harmful to human body. thus, a more careful consideration should be made before stating that using margarine has only little effect on customers.

In sum, the author statement is logically flawed and the evidences used to support the proposition is also not credible. To strengthen the argument, the manager should definitely conduct an exhaustive inquire with their customers and should also consider the possible negative impact of using margarine for a long term.