We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure

In the argument, the movie producer states that the movie studio should increase the funding for working Title to make sure it become a quality movie. To bolster this, the author cites that to work with inexperienced director and assistant producers will actually lead to more cost. however, the statement is tenuous in several aspect.

The movie producer mentions that the only experience that the director has is shooting advertisement for a shampoo company. even though, the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, we exclude the possibility that this director always shoots the commercials in an economic way. In addition, even if the director does shoot advertisement in a wasteful manner, the producer cannot unfairly assume that the director will shoot the movie in the same way as shooting a commercial. it is possible that this producer has read many books about how to efficiently use available resources to produce a qualify movie. it is also possible that he or she had take a significant number of tours to the movie shooting scene and learnt about movie production.

The producer also states that they need to pay extra money for actors and unionized crew to compensate the inefficiency caused by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors. however, the producer is unreasonably equating the word “inexperienced” and cannot work efficiently. it is possible that all of those assistant producers and directors are graduated from highly professional movie school, they might not have a quantifiable number of physical experience, but they clearly know the way to shoot a movie using as short period of time as possible. Thus, without clearly knowing the background of those employed assistants and director, the conclusion that shooting will continue for an extensive period of time is groundless.

it is recommended by the producer to increase the funding for the new movie by 10 percent. however, there is a hidden assumption that the producer will not use this money for private purposes. it is possible that the producer is lying about the proficiency of the director and the assistants that they employed. even though, the producer is presenting the fact, how can we know the quality of the movie will surely improve with this increase in funding? it is possible that hiring experienced director and other needed members will require an additional of 1000000 dollars. however, since the producer did not inform us what the base amount of the funding, an 10 percent increase might hardly be enough.

In sum, the producer is logically flawed and the evidences used are not strong enough to support the statement.