A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

In accordance with the memo, there is need of 10 percent increment in funding to provide fees to the movie-staffs and actors. Since director and assistant producers, who are making the movie, are not well experienced, there will be extra money which can be provided to other crews and actors so that they can adjust to the ineptitude of the director and producers. The author claims that this extra money will make his movie success.Perhaps his movie will be success, but he has many holes in his assumptions to promptly conclude about the success of his movie in just a funding.

First of all, the author implies that for the success of a movie, there is no such role of directors and producers. Use of inexperienced directors and producers, even though funding is increased, the movie might lack some important aspects like proper direction , story play and etc which are very crucial to become any movie success in the theater. So, without providing higher wages to his recruits, he might invest it in finding more experienced directors and producers which can helps in making his movie success.

Secondly, through his memo, it is clear that there is lack of evidences. For example; to make a movie success, it might be very important about the story, graphical design and intended people on which this movie will be broadcasted. So, funding which is increased should be also employed in these factors which play a key role to become a success movie. For example; in this modern generation, not just investing on the actors and some crews, the budget should also be allocated to know people's expectation and current demands of the market which will aid in popularity of the movie.

Thirdly, it might be not be necessary just to increase funding to ensure quality products or increment of 10 percent might not be satisfactory to get the movie success. If there is well management in time and punctuality, additional budget might not be required just to stay for the crew and actors to adjust during play. So proper management of all aspects in movie making from story writing, acting , direction and producing etc, may prove that allocated need of funding be satisfactory. It might be reduced or increased as required.

In this way, the affirmation made by the author in the memo is based on fault assumptions and limited evidences. Further study should be done in various aspects of management and investment wisely for the success of the movie.