Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends are the important part of our lives and without them we cannot simply define our lives. Success and happiness in our lives are also due to their involvement in our lives. So, it is important to have a good relation with them. Some people think we should give more importance to make new friends rather than keeping up with the old friends, others disagree. In my opinion, it is more important to keep up with our old friends than to make a new friend because of following reasons.

Firstly, an old friend knows you better. They are habituated with our happiness and sufferings, so that they can show us a good direction in both trouble and enjoyment. A person without a friend often becomes alone in these extreme cases and derailed in his life. But with a close and good old friend, we can share both pros and cons of our lives to them and it will certainly help to sustain in a good track. For example; I was broken down due to my breakup with my girlfriend this past year and one of my old friend has helped me to maintain my composure. At that time if I had gone to seek some favors from any new friend, then I think they will make a fun of my condition. I leaned that a true old friend is much more helpful than any new friend in such circumstances. So, it is crucial to maintain a good relationship with our friends so that we can get benefit from them in these extreme cases.

Secondly, friends are pivotal to function our lives properly. Becoming social and friendly is the most important in the world and without which it is difficult to progress. However, making a few friend and trusting them is always a risky thing because we cannot simply know about their intention and attitude in a short time of influence. For example; if we allow our any new friends in our business and trust them blindly, it is probable that they might deceive us and we cannot do anything just repenting on it. So to avoid such risk, it is better to give focus and priority to our true old friends. They can make our lives happy and enjoyable. Similarly we should be careful to make a new friends and to rely upon them.

Thirdly, if we just go on making new friends and ignoring our old friends, will they continue relation with us ? In some days, these new friends will turn into old friends and when we ignore them at that time of their need, will this define our friendship to them? If we just go on making new friends without giving any attention to our old friends, simply we can be called as "betrayer" and any of friend won't keep up with us. Eventually, this habit will harm us. We might be alone in our lives in our old days when we need them more.

To sum up, we should give more importance to our old friends. We can make new friends but replacing old with new is not a good virtue.