A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

The movie producer wrote to the head of movie studio that they should increase fundings for movie by 10% to improve the quality. To support this idea, he assumed the director is not much experienced since the director was working with shampoo advertisement before and he undermined the advertising business as "wasteful". From the given assumptions, the argument is flaws at various points.

Firstly, movie producer has doubt on director whether he should able to produce a movie in given budget or not, he assumes that the director was previously directed advertisement. Before hiring a director, producer could have ensure that the director will work on the budget or not. also, their is no evidence provided in the memo related to directors previous task. Producer already assumes that the adverising business is wasteful, so he expect to shoot take after take. Whether the director is from shampoo company, but their is no evidence provided in memo that he can be well work with movies too. It may possible that the director is trained as movie director also.

Furthermore, producer stated that they have saved money by hiring inexperienced team of director and producer, and one the hour basis those staff is paid by producer. By this scenario, it is clearly seen that producer have not studied the cost require to produce a movie and he was trying to make movie economical within the least budget. It is not possible to produce best movie within minimum budget and inexperienced team.

By the above assumptions, it is clearly seen that the cost requirements for movie production are not analysed properly by movie producer, and it may possible that due to the weak team, the budget may raise above 10% and then too output will be unsatistified. Producer should first analyze the overall cost and chances should be made in production team so that the movie will be produced as expected and within proper budget.

Major factors stated in memo seems like they have been flawed and improvement is needed with proper reasoning.