A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

The memorandum presented by the movie producer states the issues related with the movie which being directed by the first time director who only has experience of shooting commercials for a shampoo company. The memo states that there is need to incerease the movie funding by 10% in order to ensure a quality product but if there were knowing that the movie director is inexperienced and has no experience of shooting movies then why they signed that director? Was there any need of signing that particular director? While the reasons are not stated related to this query. To increase the movie funding is a huge decision which might cost a lot of money and such decision should not be made precipitously.

Why one would sign a director who have no earlier experience to direct a movie which will cost a lot of money? It's ok if they are just trying out some new director but then is such condition there should not be a lot of investment in such projects. In this case a movie director only has experience of shooting the commercial for a shampoo company and we know that the advertising buisness is notoriously wasteful and they are inured to shoot a scence in one take. So it is a matter of concern that whether he/she will be able to shoot take after take without concern for how much time is being spent on the one scene. More reasons need to be presented before jumping onto any conclusion that why such director was signed?

The memo states that company also saved a lot of money by hiring inexperienced assitant directors and producers and this saving in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If this will be the scenario then its better to take pre-measures for them rahter than spending the on the actors and the crew. What it takes for the assitant producers and directors for arranging things so that ohters have to wait for it? Why the team hired the inexperienced assitant producers and directors knowing that they already have the inexperienced movie director?

Rather than discussing how to increase the budget and get the extra money so that the movie will not be a failure, the reasons behind signing the inexperienced director and the assistant director, producer should be explained clearly. The movie project involves a lot of money in it and before spending more money on it every reason behind that spending should be listed properly. While the memo lacks in providing the exact reasons for their shortcomings and the demand of incresing the money, the movie producer should look for more reasons that why they are needing more money.