Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Leaders are the ideals of a society. They are entrusted the fate of a whole nation and people residing in there. Even the trivial actions taken by leaders can bring out an unimaginable outcome. The decisions that they take, the words they speak and the deeds that they do, carry a great importance to the nation. So, it is in the part of citizens that they give such position to a responsible and well equipped personality and to judge whether a person qualifies for a specific position it is mandatory for the citizens to get information related to the leaders and their way of ruling the country.

There are many such instances where revelation of sensational information about a leader has caused their ouster from the position. For instance, many Arabian leaders were ousted from their position in Arab spring after information of their involvement in bribery and corruption was revealed. Recently, the speaker of house of Nepal had to resign from the job when it was revealed that he was involved in the rape of a woman. So, public can only keep abreast with the nature of politicians and political situation when all their information are available and they can utilize this information when picking out a proficient leader for their country in future.

True democracy doesn’t exist only when people are allowed to vote their leader. True democracy exists when people get to know all the information of potential leader and choose their leader according to the information. We have many examples where autocratic leader prevent their information from reaching to public. Moreover, in this era of technology these leaders disseminate false information among public. This has resulted in poor running of the country. The leader of North Korea, for instance, doesn’t let information about him and his regime to be given to public. Rather, misinformation and propaganda are disseminated through education, television and other medium. Consequently, people of North Korea are forced to be ruled by the totalitarian regime. Had the relevant information about the leadership been disseminated to the public, they would have taken action to ouster the leader and enjoy their freedom.

Though many proponents of the above argument might argue that some sensational information might bring public outcry and even horrific movements but history reflects that such movement starts when most of the people, based on the information, think that they have to take action. For example, lately after it was revealed through secret sources that one of the speakers of the parliament of Nepal had knowingly murdered some men of a village brutally, people in Nepal took to the streets and demanded his ouster. Though the protest was violent, what good did it do was a strong warning against such crimes in the future and ouster of such pathetic leader. Finally, people in this century possess the right to information and with regard to that, every information, how much ever sensitive it might be, should be provided to public.