Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

it is being stated that for most of the time, it is necessary that the political leaders constrain the spreading of information to the public. In my opinion, the condition where this statement holds true depends on the type of the information.

information that is related to the military protection, weapons should be withhold from the public. if all of the information concerning the national defence system of a country is released to the public, then it will become one of the weaknesses of this country and other nations might utilize this weak point to threat this country’s leader to make decision that benefit them.

However, information associated with a country’s leaders uses of funds that belongs to the country should be transparent. Recently, China has been working with the eradication of corruption in the government system. After a number of censorship, an unexpectedly high number of governors were found using the country’s money for private use and receive brides from others. corruption is a big threat to a country’s integrity and peacefulness; when a country’s leader is no longer trustworthy and could not serve as a good representative of a country, citizens will rebel and in the worst scenario, the country will turn into a chaos.

Moreover, information regarding to the food safety should also be fully informed to the public. Once in the past, one of the Chinese dairy company had used low quality milk to produce the milk powder for babies. At that time, the information related to the product was not accurately and fully presented to public, so nobody in the market could realize the potential harm of consuming this milk powder, and a disaster happened. By drinking this milk powder everyday, a great number of innocent life was taken because of the harmful chemicals contained in the product. Back to that time, if government were being more stringent about the food safety and publicized all relevant information, the public could have been more aware when selecting products and the loss of those babies could have been prevented.

In sum, when considering which information should be withhold from the pubic, one should think about whether the release of the information will lead to potential harm to the country and the community as a whole. if the answer is no, then citizens should have the right to be informed; oppositely, information should be securely protected.