In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

it is being stated that in any field of endeavour, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by achievements from the past within that field. however, the statement, in my opinion, is an over-generalization of the situation.

Admittedly, some of the important contributions are based on the knowledge gained from past achievements. As an example in the field of science, copernicus, one of the most eminent scientists throughout the history, argued against the previously established geocentric theory; subsequently, by adding on his own knowledge and doing comprehensive research, he developed heliocentric theory, which suggests that the earth is not the centre of the universe. another example could be the great contribution of galileo. he, an outstanding figure in the field of physics, rejected the two-hundred-year physics principle that established by Aristotle, and stated that the time when an object fell could be determine by the acceleration instead of the weight of the object. For copernicus and galileo, they developed their theory based on the previous work done by others and made contributions that revolutionized their own fields.

however, there are also significant contributions that produced without being influenced by previous works. For instance, madam curie, a great female scientist, devoted almost eight years to the refine radium. this refinement of this chemical element was unprecedented and her perseverance on her goal led her to become a laureate of the nobel prize. youyou tu, another great female role model in the field of physiology, had dedicated most of her life time to find the cure for malaria. During the whole experiment and investigation process, there were countless number of obstacles since no one thought such remedy exist. Nevertheless, youyou tu had closely worked with her team and no challenges ever stopped them; eventually, they succeed and youyou received the nobel prize in the field of physiology as a acknowledgement for her great work that saved millions of lives. both madam curie and youyou tu are two leading female contributor to the their fields, and both of their work are independent from the past achievement done by others; they made it possible to create something that benefit the development of human civilization without swayed by past contributions within the fields they are working in.

In sum, it will be too arbitrary to assert that all significant contributions is greatly influenced by previous work.