The following appeared in a memo to the board of the Grandview Symphony.

"The city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony since the symphony's inception-pocetak ten years ago. Last year the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have doubled and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series has reached new highs. Now that the Grandview Symphony is an established success, it can raise ticket prices. Increased revenue from larger audiences and higher ticket prices will enable the symphony to succeed without funding from the city government."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the author states that government funding is not needed for the symphony to succeed. To bolster this, the author cites that there were more private contributions to the syphons and attendance at the concerts-in-the-park series has achieved new peak after the hiring of an well-known conductor. however, the statement is tenuous in several aspects.

The author mentions that the city of Granview has provided annual funding for the grandview symphony since its inception ten years ago. In the statement, the author simply ignores the fact that revenue is a function of profit minus expenses. it is possible that without those funds from the government, the symphony would have insufficient money to hire the internationally known conductor who leads to the later success of the symphony. thus, no conclusion should be made before making a more comprehensive research about how large is the role of government funds in subsidizing the symphony financially.

after the internationally known conductor become a member of the grandview symphony, more private contributions have happened and there has been more audiences for the concerts-in-the-park series. however, not enough evidence are there to exclude the possibility that this conductor will continue his contract with grandview symphony in the future. it is possible that other symphony might provide him with a higher pay that cause him to leave the grandview. it is also possible that this conductor is near the age of retirement and might only able to work for one or two more years. thus, without evidence that excluding all possible scenarios that might happen in the future, the assertion that no government funding will be needed in future for the symphony to succeed is unjustifiable.

The author is also being over-enthusiastic about the situation. Even though it might be the case that the great work of the new conductors lead to the higher attendance for the concerts-in-the-park series, there is no evidence suggests that future works will also lead to same success. it is possible that the public audience especially favour the music played in the concerts-in-the-park series. it is also possible that once the ticket price is raised, less people will be able to afford the ticket thus leading to a decreased attendance.

In sum, the author’s statement is logically flawed and the evidence used is also groundless in supporting his argument. To strengthen it, the author should consider in a throughout manner about the importance of government funds for the grandview symphony, also should consider all the possible long term consequences for the symphony to continue without the funding.