The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author states that all of their hospital system should use ultraclean as the liquid hand soap in order to prevent serious patient infections. To bolster this conclusion, the author cites that a concentrated solution of ultraclean showed a great ability to reduce the bacteria population and that with ultraclean, less cases of patient infection have been reported. however, the argument is tenuous in several aspect.

One of the major problem is the validity of using the laboratory study as a proof that ultraclean is a better hand soap choice. The author points out that a concentrated ultraclean led to a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the current liquid hand cleanser. however, the result is only justifiable base on the assumption that the examiner also used the concentrated version of the current liquid hand cleaners during the lab. it is entirely possible that the seemingly greater ability to kill germs is only because a denser solution of the new hand soap was used. Furthermore, the only comparison has been made in the study is between ultraclean and the older hand cleanser, however, it is possible that some other cleanser that is more powerful than ultraclean.

The other problem is that the author’s assumption about the hospital’s report is reliable. it is possible that the company that produce ultraclean is currently cooperating with the hospital. thus, helping the company to sell more ultraclean by lying about number of patient infection can also allow the hospital to yield extra profit. In addition, we are not inform of the size of the hospital and the size of the other hospitals involved in the subsequent test of ultraclean. Perhaps, the the hospital that the speaker is representing has a relatively small scale compare with others and less patients will definitely result in less infection. thus the author’s assumption that all hospitals are the same size is unfair. To strengthen the argument, speaker should consider whether the assumptions he or she has been made are appropriate.

Last but not least, the author ignored the disadvantages associated with replacing all the current hand cleansers with ultraclean throughout the hospital system. it is possible that the hospital is facing some pressing issues, such as improving the unusable surgery facilities or increase the number of sickbeds, that require huge amount of money. thus, spending money on changing the hand cleansing liquid might not be a wise choice to make at this point of time. also, the author ignores that fact that patients’ opinions matter and unreasonably assumes that the patient will also agree with the hospital’s decision. Even ultraclean effectively controls the number of infection occurred among patients, it is possible that this hand washer has some unwelcoming features. For example, it might have a very strong odor that makes patient feel unacceptable. thus, a more comprehensive evaluation should be made for the merit and drawback that ultraclean could bring.

In sum, the author’s argument is logically flawed and the recommendation is not well-supported. To enhance it, the author should prove that the results obtained from the laboratory study and the report from the hospital are substantiated, also should show that the advantages of replacing the old cleanser with ultraclean outweigh the potential harm.