The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The director believes that Ultra clean solution used in their hospital should be introduced in all other hand-washing stations throughout hospital system. The reason for rendering to this conclusion is because of the reduction of 40 percent of the bacteria compared to hand soaps. He believes that usgae of the ultra clean solution as the reason and hopes to prevent the serious patient infections. While the intention of the director is kind and hopeful his claim is based on series of unwarranted assumptions and he has to address few questions before stating the flawed conclusion.

Firstly,director of the hospital must be aware of the healthy bacteria present on the human and their presence does more good than harm. He has to answer what type of bacteria reduction is observed. There is a possibility that healthy bacteria might have reduced with the same percentage of harmful bacteria. If the bacteria present is infectious or not?Considering this will provide insightful solution because the solution that merely kills the healthy bacteria and proposing this to all hospitals shall not favor his purpose.

Secondly,does the solution proposed works on every one of the patients? Some patients might be infected with the organisms that are resistant to the solution and there is a possibility that some patients are sensitive to the solution and using the solution shall further increase the suffering. A survey proposing that the solution favors everyone and the dosage that has to be used should also be presented because if 2 ml of liquid hand wash can suffice killing 100 bacteria while 20 ml of ultra-clean is required to kill same percentage of bacteria, simply proposing that ultra-clean is best for usage is groundless.Because there is a possibility that ultra clean solution is costly and liquid hand wash is cheap.

Further, the main conclusion is based on the test done, first of all, does the test consider the patients of the same infected disease? A patient infected with small pox has different organisms than the patient infected with jaundice. A hospital might have patients infected with different diseases.A clear report showing that the patients tested for the solution are with same infection and the dosage required for different patients should help substantiate his claim.

In conclusion, the director needs a number of factors before proposing a product to the hospital. A clear report showing that it works for every infected individual and the possibility for negative effects and the dosage and cost of the solution should be presented. Else the argument of the director is completely flawed and shall not produce the desired outcome.