The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals."In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group.Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The director points out that UltraClean is the better selection of hand soaps that can reduce infection in Hospitals. Therefore, all hospital systems should apply the same products. However, the some assumptions that the director made in the memo needs to be evaluated.

First of all, comparing UltraClean's result from the laboratory to liquid hand soaps that are used in the public is unreasonable. The director assumed that UltraClean had the same test environment as regular liquid soaps. The laboratory might conducts tests in a controlled environment with a few kinds of specific bacteria for UltraClean testing. UltraClean might perform well reducing several bacteria but when placed in the public can compare with currently used liquid hand soaps, they might have the same percent of bacteria reduction. Even worse, UltraClean might even be inferior. Therefore, the director should provide information of the comparison test results of UltraClean with liquid handsoaps.

Secondly, the director seems to assume that UltraClean has direct influence on the reduced infections in Workby Hospital. There are many ways for patients to get infected and washing hands in only one of the ways to prevent. Perhaps that Workby is highly strict on the rules to wearing mask in the hospital. The sanitary in Workby is probably well trained, thus understanding how to prevent infection. Moreover, what kind of hospital is Workby? What kind of patients does it take care? If Workby does not take care of children and elderly, the chances are low that its patients will get infected easily. Ultraclean might not be the main reason that infection decreased.

Last but not least, the director recommended that all systems should apply UltraClean. However, hospital at different locations may have different kinds of bacteria and UltraClean cannot have effects on all of them. Also, different hospital takes in different patients too.

Therefore, before deciding using UltraClean, the director should consider the unproven assumptions.