The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument suggests replacing the children’s section in the book store with in-store cafe can be profitable and keeps the competitors at check. Since according to the national census, the percentage of population under are ten had declined, speaker assumes that children’s books sales shall decline. At first glance the argument appears to be somewhat convincing but further reflection reveals it is based on dubious assumptions.

First, the argument readily assumes that supplanting the children’s section with cafe will attract patrons as both cafe and books are available at one place. While this a tempting assumption there it is by no means a certainty. There is a possibility that patrons prefer bookstore for its serene nature. Obviously adding a cafe shall cause some disturbance rendering people abhor it. This poses a serious problem because the sales of the bookstore shall actually decrease while the speaker is assuming to bag profits. Further, cafe might not earn sales as the children’s section may be because of poor quality and lackluster ambience of the place.

Secondly, the argument unfairly claims that national census data reported effects the bookstore in Collegeville which is part of nation. The claim is unsubstantiated and too hasty to presume that all the 10% decline of the children’s population is entirely of this city. Since it is a national census, it considers the entire population of the country, not specific to a particular state. For instance, Collegeville children’s population may not change but of the neighboring states could have declined. Without substantial evidence of the census of the state concluding is groundless.

Thirdly, replacing section in the store with cafe speaker hopes to ward off competition of Book and Bean. He presumes that introducing a section in store with cafe can keep the competition at check. This is completely ludicrous. Even if the speaker adheres to his idea and proceeds, there is no clear proof that his store is better than Book and Bean. Book and Bean might be a large-scale company with its stretch extending abroad and already gained some reputation in other states. Then Monarch Books shall be at jeopardy leave alone the profits.

In conclusion, the argument is weak because it depends on oversimplified assumptions about national census, profitable strategies. To strengthen the argument, the speaker must at very least show that children population has decreases in Collegeville, a rigorous survey depicting the preference of the people to include the cafe in-store and the conclusive evidence that Book and Bean shall not be a competitor in future to bag the profits.