The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that, Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books so that it can increase profits and can compete with Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, who announced its intention to open a Collegeville store, the same place where monarch book is located. However, the given reasoning of an argument is not entirely logically convincing, since it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

Primarily, The author completely ignores the fact that monarch book is twenty years old and is well established. Whereas, the book and bean a new bookstore and cafe is not yet started as well as we don’t know whether combining the bookstore with coffee shop can be a better option or not, author has not given any evidence that combining the bookstore with a coffee shop can increase the sail. Also it is true that book and bean just announced its intention to open a shop and from this we can not say anything about its success particularly in the area where the very old and popular bookstore is already there'

Secondly, The author is making an huge assumption based upon the national data that percentage of the population under age ten is significant decline. Again It is a national data and may or may not be true for the place like Collegeville. It may possible that the Collegeville has more no. of children than the any other part of the nation or It may also possible that the children in Collegeville are reading much more than other children does. so Author has be very specific regarding the survey and data which is being used for making any conclusion.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound. The evidences given in support of the conclusion that children's books section should be replace with cafe does little to improve that conclusion, Since it does not address the assumption already stated. Ultimately the argument might have been strengthen if the author could have shown that combining the bookstore with cafe increases the profit as well as popularity, that the no. of children in Collegeville is also decreasing significantly and people of Collegeville also want such type of change in the bookstore.