The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are

one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers.

Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so

that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument states that, Quiot Manufacturing should reduce the working hours to mitigate the problem of more job accidents due to fatigue and sleep deprivation and cite the example of nearby panoply industries, they have one hour shorter work shifts and 30 percent less job accidents then Quiot manufacturing, However, after carefully assuming the argument it seems that the argument is based on some major fallacious assumption.

Firstly, The author is assuming that the two organisation stated are very similar and all the conditions in both industries are same. However, both of the industries can be basically very different and therefore the ratio of the accidents may vary. It may be possible that the quiot manufacturing have a grater amount of work load and it may be a very large firm as compare to the panoply and therefore, the number of accidents in panoply are less. Also It may be true that panoply may have different

safety guidelines as well as they may have very good safety measures and very active emergency services which may not be that good in the quiot.

Secondly, the author cited that experts say that fatigue and sleep disorders are the reasons for on-the-job accidents. However, he is assuming that the same reason is true for accidents in quiot manufacturing. But, it is no where mentioned in the argument that accidents in quiot are due to sleep deprivation only.

Finally, the author is assuming that reduction in the work hours by one hour can reduced the on-job accidents as well as can improve the productivity. However, author fails to give any evidence which will suggest that reduction in work hour can improve the productivity.

In conclusion, I can say that the argument is based on the certain unstated assumption discuss above, and In order to confirm the argument one must give the answers to the

questions or clarify the assumptions state above.