The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president asseverates that Quiot Manufacturing will be able to increase productivity by implementing a reduced working time and it will also lead to a reduction in the accidents while working. However, the assertion is lacking evidence and needs to provide additional evidence.

First of all, it overlooks the possibility that the expert's advice might be wrong. For instance, they may be unaware of the different conditions that the two industries have: the Quiot factories may be hazardous and thus prone to accidents compared to the Panoply industry. Moreover, the employees of Quiot may have not received proper safety educations before working in the field. Hence, to further support the argument, the mavericks should be given information about the comparison between Quiot and Panoply. If indeed both companies were under the same conditions, it would be sound to argue that fatigue was the essential reason for accidents.

Next, concluding that a decrease in hazards will lead to a productivity increase seems hasty. It could be true that the productivity increases because of employees are less worried and are able to fully focus on their jobs. Nevertheless, the vice president did not provide any information about such matters and thus this assertion is incoherent. To make is more cogent, he should provide the correlation between the number of mishaps and the productivity of the workers by for example, explaining that the total workers available at a certain time will increase due to less patients recovering from the troubles.

Last but no least, it seems unreasonable to retrench all three work shifts to ensure safety. For instance, shifts that are during the daytime are unlikely to hamper a worker's respite. On the other hand, shifts during the evening and midnights may be problematic and directly related to the worker's rest, resulting in sleep deprivation. Consequently, the vice president should provide just evidence to persuade us to believe that all shifts require a contracted time by explaining that even in the daytime, it takes long hours to drive home since the factory is alienated from major towns.

In conclusion, the author's contention is missing various evidence to be persuasive. Professionals should be given information about the different situations of the two companies, should substantiate the relation between mishaps and productivity, and finally condone that all shifts require a lessened work time.