32. The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author suggests that shortening working hours would have labors adequate amount of sleep in order to reduce the accident rate in Quiot Manufacturing. The argument is plagued by a number of skewed assumptions.

The author suggests that Quiot Manufacturing has 30 percent more accidents than the one nearby panoply industries plant. An assumption here is that the accident rate would be comparable between Quiot Manufacturing and panoply industries plant. it is true if the environment condition and the manufacturing type are the same. For example, Both of Quiot manufacturing and panoply industries plant are assembling cars with identical scale. Yet if they are engaged in different industry, it would be a different story. For instance, Quiot Manufacturing is a heavy or large-scale machine producer, as expected, the company uses a lot of machines to do metal cutting in the factory. On the other side, panoply industries plant only responses micro process unit package. therefore, the accident rate in Quiot Manufacturing is conceivably higher than panoply industries plant. The writer has to deal with this controversial assumption to make the claim more cogent.

Even if Quiot Manufacturing and panoply industries plant have the same condition, industry and comparable. another assumption which the writer implied is that labors works one hour shorter in panoply industries plant than panoply industries plant and experts said the major factor in accident due to fatigue as well as insufficient sleep. it is certain that all workers spending fewer work hours and use the extra time to get more sleep. However, there is another possibility. For example, if most labors work off earlier and spend whole night playing computer games, they are not going to gain more sleep. The assumption fewer working hours to more sleeping hours is not reliable. Unless the writer elucidates more explanation on the assumption, the inference is not enough convincing.

Furthermore, another assumption is that expert opinion is valid, reliable and credible. it is undisputed if the experts are originated from an authoritative labor accident analysis center with doctor degree in medicine. they are devoted themselves to the research about the relationship between sleep hours and labor accident and make plenty of splendid publication with fabulous reputation, then their words would be persuasive. Nevertheless, if this expert is a college student major in dentist and study the related knowledge as auxiliary subject. He or she would not have an adequate background or essays to prove the statement. therefore, the author needs to consider the mentioned assumption to fortify the argument.

The author has to address the above assumptions to strengthen the argument.