The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author states that the working hours should be shorten in order to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at quiot. To bolster this, the author cites the comparison between the data of accidents during work of the nearby panoply industry plant and that of the quiot’s. however, the statement is tenuous in several aspect.

The author mentions that, last year, quiot manufacturing had more accidents compared with that of the panoply industry plant. however, there is a hidden assumption that every factor that lead to the accidents during the past year will remain unchanged this year. it is possible that quiot manufacturing employed a lot of workers who are obsessed with alcohol, which made them unconscious during work and caused the accidents and they are already fired from work. it is also possible that this year, the working condition of quiot is improved and machines in use are more user-friendly, which will lead to less accidents.

The author also notes that there were 30 percent more on-job-accidents in quiot than in panoply. however, it is possible that quiot and panoply are already the industries with the lowest occurrence of accidents compare with other industries in the country. Thus, the adjustment for working hours will be hardly effective in reducing the on-job-accidents even more. Furthermore, the author unfairly assumes that those two industry plants are comparable. it is possible that workers of panoply are offered with superb housing and lots of health care benefits which contribute to the low accidents rate.

it is recommend by the author to shorten each of the three work shifts by one hour. Nevertheless, the author is making an over-positive assumption that shortened working hour will lead to higher productivity. it is possible that worker will use the extra free time to do something else such as playing video games instead of sleeping. it is also possible that less working hour will lead to lower wages. If wages are low, it is likely that workers will pay less attention during work which may lead to even lower productivity.

In sum, the author’s argument is logically flawed and the evidence used to support the statement are groundless. To strengthen it, the author should conduct a more comprehensive research about the relationship between the hours of work and the on-the-job accident rate, also consider the similarities and differences between quiot and panoply.