The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A nation is home to many great artists, rulers and scientists and their success in a way helps their nation gain prominence as a virtue of their success. Therefore, it seems apt to conclude that if a scientist is making significant contributions to the domain he belongs, or the artists of a country are making beautiful portraits, the citizens are also having a positive lifestyle, but is that so? The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not be the achievements of its rulers, scientists or artists, but by the general welfare of its people. I agree with this statement and I will explain the reasoning behind my position in the paragraphs below.

A scientist might achieve great prominence by inventing a device that is a source of energy for an very long period of time. He does so in order to provide relief to the citizens of his nation who do not have access to continuous electric supply. If his project is a success, it will not only make a name for himself but also for the country he belongs to, but in order to implement his project he needs to have technologies that are not present in his country and therefore, migrate to a developed country. Eventually, he constructs the device, but it is too expensive to be implemented in the country that he belongs to. Developed countries might implement his technology and also benefit from it, but his own country will not be able to reap the rewards of his innovation. The scientist will be famous and will also make a name for his country but the citizens of his country are still strivng hard for an adequate lifestyle, irrespective of the accomplishments of the scientist.

An underdeveloped country or a third-world country is ravaged by poverty and famines. These countries often produce sporting talent that provides the citizens with a sense of pride. Many footballers who have migrated from these countries to other European countries in search of better lifestyle or standard of living eventually use the developed facilities to become accomplished athletes. Such a situation becomes even more special when these athletes decide to represent their home nation rather than their adopted nation, owing to which, people around the world start taking notice of the countries that they never came across. The achievements of the athletes leads to people noticing the countries they represent but, these achievements are not the right indicators of the general welfare of the country. It is often the case that such countries are in chaos due to famines or civil wars. Probably the reason why these athletes fled the country in the first place.

Proponents of the above statement would state that the during Renaissance, artists were gaining prominence due to the work they were creating. It is still admired by many people of the current century. Moreover, the Renaissance period was a prosperous time wherein the general welfare of the countries were also at a high standard. So it can be inferred that the success of the Renaissance artists reflected on the people of their respective countries as well. I agree that such a time period did exist, but there can be other reasons for such an instance in history to occur. History is replete with incident wherein the achievements of the rulers or the artists did not necessarily signify a prosperous nation.

In sum, I am still a strong supporter of the statement that the surest indicator of a great nation is represented not be the achievements of its rulers, scientists or artists, but by the general welfare of its people. The success and achievements of few does not necessarily reflect a similar state about the general welfare of the country they belonged to.