The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Great nation can be defined as the nation whoes social, economic and political development is at its peak and is continuesly developing. Although, general welfare of the people is an important thing while analysing the greatness of any nation, in my view the achievements of its rulers, scientists and artists would be more efficiantly predict the greatness of any nation in all the aspects of gratness.

Achievements are in the forms of Awards or various prestigious prices are the indicators of excellence. If the rulers of any perticular nation are recieving such honors, that means the political development of that nation is very good and it is in good hands. Barak Obama recieved a Nobel price of peace, that was a clear indication that the country he was leading is in peace and ultimetly the people living in that country are in well being

Furthermore, If the artist or sportsperson receiving any kind of Award or winning the prestigious matches in olympic games or artists winning some great international competitions, we can say that the nation is supporting such art and sports so that the people living in that country can lead the nation. Arts and sports are the secondory things in life and without the general welfare of the people it is difficult to focous on the secondary things like arts.

In addition to this, It is also true that for any nation the scientific development plays a very important role in deciding its greatness. The scientific development is masured as the nations overall development, for example NASA a US space agency is the worlds best scientific agency and there fore every nation knows that the greatness of United States in the space science, And is appreciated by everyone. Simmilarly it is true for every branch of science and therefore, achievements in science can be a parameter to assess the greatness of the nation.

Ultimately, I can say that after understanding the examples above the achievements of the rulers, artists, and scientist of any nation could be a surest indicator. Because, success in all those things make a nation great and not just the general welfare. only achieving the general welfare can be a great thing for the nations citizens but achieving the greatness in all things listed above gives the prestige to the nation and its citizens in entire world.