The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument in the memo believes that opening a new store in areas where people are more concerned with health like Plainsville is profitable. To buttress the argument memo asserts that residents of Plainsville are more into buying exercise equipment and involved in weight training and aerobic classes than ever.However, the argument is filled with series of unwarranted assumptions rendering the conclusion unconvincing as it stands.Several questiones need to be answered before further evaluation of the argument.

First of all,jumping to the conclusion that residents of Plainsville are concerned with health related lives is completely flawed.Generalizing based on increase in sales of shoes and equipment is presumptuous. For instance if the residents of Plainsville are profligate and like to spend money and like to garner new shoes and equipment. They might not be interested in health related products and healthy drinks.Further, the shops might be of small scale and products are cheap and the speaker's shop is large-scale and products are costly which people cannot afford. Information regarding increase in sales of what kind of shops has increased the sales and the economic status of the people in the city will help to decide to open the shop or not.

Secondly,there is a possibility that the stores selling health related products and food are myriad in the city, opening a new store does not earn profits as expected because people have too many options and more over they might have habituated to other stores.Location of the shops that have achieved success should also be considered because a store that is in reachable distance attracts more customers than in the outskirts of the city.A clear report that depicts the location of the shops and the flow of customers to the store will help substantiate his claim.

Further, speaker in a move to substantiate his claim avers that the health club which was nearly closed 5 years ago is now full with patrons.Earlier people might be unaware of the club but now because of boost in advertising and supplanting the equipment with more advanced ones might have increased the flow of patrons.Assuming that since are more concerned with health increase in flow in the club is completely groundless.

In conclusion,speaker's assumptions are way too high rendering a flawed conclusion. A conclusive evidence reporting that how many people are present in the city among which how many are concerned with health. And the reason for the increase in flow of patrons in health club and the stretch and competition the store has to face if opened has to be provided for substantiating his claim.