Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the Internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of using printed materials over internet. If I were forced to choose one, I would definitely prefer internet for research to printed materials for myriad reasons and I develop these ideas in later paragraphs.

To begin with, the main benefit of using internet is its flexibility and accessibility. Books and articles can be accessed from anywhere and anytime with the internet which is not possible with printed materials. Moreover, the availability of the books in the library is not promised. It is impossible for the library to maintain thousands of copies while it is easy with internet. For instance, I had to wait a month to access a German language book that was checked out by others because our library maintains few copies of books. Further, a student can access only fixed number of books at a time which makes the learning process difficult and demotivates students from learning. Moreover, the videos and virtual images depicting the research has significant impact and motivates students towards research.

Secondly, the pollution associated with the production of printed books and the wastage it incurs is favoring people to use internet. For the production of paper, deforestation, and for printing special chemicals has to be used and after the production complete recycle of the product produced is impossible, moreover by time there is deterioration of the printed material. For instance, ancestors from India has written about medicinal value of plants in Vedas which were destroyed over time, the knowledge one acquires is a waste if it is unable to educate next generation. Now the research has to e started from the beginning which might take a lot of time, labor and lives. But in the case of internet one has the backup options and memory saving clouds which help to save our data and anybody can reach the clouds with permissions. Scientists can now concentrate on other aspects of development.

So, for the afore-mentioned reasons i prefer using internet over printed materials for research. The flexibility and accessibility and the environmental concerns are the major factors motivating me to choose the internet over printed materials for research.