Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Research is an important factor when it comes to writing different papers or studying a particular topic. Children or students nowadays have access to a gargantuan amount of material both offline and online to conduct adequate research about different topics. In my opinion, the internet is a much better source to do research work as it has many benefits when compared to traditional methods like reading books and articles.

Firstly, the internet comprises a vast number of topics that can come in handy for the researcher. We can use an array of different search engines like Google Scholar and other education-focused engines to run our searches which gives us accurate results in just a few clicks. The effort that students put in finding the correct sources or materials from books, magazines, and articles can be minimized by using the internet, and more time and effort can be put into actually learning content from these sources. For example, if one student needs to search topics for his next machine learning project, he/she can easily type it in the search engine and instantly generate results rather than sitting in the library and looking through big books and magazines for hours.

Secondly, all the different books and articles that are present in the library are already present on the internet in form of digital copies. Nowadays, students have evolved along with technology, so carrying laptops, tablets and mobile phones isn’t anything new and almost all the students have access to these technologies so the internet is also more accessible to them. Hence gaining knowledge by researching can be done at any time and at any place instead of just doing it in the library or at home near the study table.

Lastly, the orthodox method of just reading through articles is not enough. The internet provides other options for interacting with peers and professors of different countries which can enhance one’s research ability. For example, a simple question-and-answer session with different people on the internet could clear so many doubts and give new ideas to students who are conducting research.

We can safely conclude that the internet is far better than books and articles when it comes to researching options. The latest innovations along with the lightning-fast speed of the internet just overshadow traditional methods.