Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents are the best teachers. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some experts suggest that college professors are the best teachers, as most of them have advanced degrees and are trained thoroughly before becoming a teacher. However, I disagree, as being more educated and having specific training does not make you a better teacher. I firmly believe that parents make the best teachers because parents are the first teacher the child grows with and they care for their children way more than professors or school teachers, and this love develops into better teachings and values imparted to their kids.

Firstly, all parents have gone through a childhood which was similar to their kids as the values and upbringing which was taught by the children’s grandparents is usually carry-forwarded into young ones. With this knowledge, parents usually have a much better understanding of how and what to teach their kids. For example, my grandmother taught my mother how to cook scrumptious meals when she was a teenager, and not only did she turn out to be a fantastic cook, but also taught me some of the dishes. Since she taught me the exact recipes and methods to cook those dishes, I can easily make those dishes without any mistakes. No other culinary chef in the world would be able to teach me these dishes, as well as my mother, taught me.

Secondly, parents have supernatural instincts about their children which make them far better judges than any teacher. For instance, my father can judge exactly when I’m lying and talks me into telling the truth, and makes me realize my mistakes faster. Any teacher would just scold me or far worse, not even realize if I was lying. Parents can impart wisdom in a way that is unparalleled to any lecturer speaking in a lecture hall.

Lastly, parents are our best friends, as when can talk to them about any problem and they will always have the solution and correct advice for us. For example, when I was thirteen years old and got suspended from school for misbehaving, I was extremely scared to tell anyone. But when I told my parents about it, instead of scolding me or punishing me for my actions, they gave me good advice and gave me a solution, which was to apologize to my teacher. My heart felt lighter when I apologized to my teacher and promised her never to do it again.

Arguing about who is a better teacher, whether a learned professor from a fancy college or one’s parent is always going to remain a complex issue. Nevertheless, I contend that parents are far better teachers than anybody in the world. They are our best friends, have instincts towards their children, and have wisdom that they have gotten from their own experiences.