The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

The author states that the Crust copper company has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in West Fredonia to mine copper. The author assumes that this would inevitably lead to pollution and an environmental disaster as many endangered species’ lives would be in danger. The only way to stop this from happening would be to stop buying CCC copper products. This assumption is completely flawed and dosen’t make sense.

First of all, the area is spread over 10,000 square miles, this is a humongous space for mining copper and because of this the author assumes they will immediately start mining on so much land and cause pollution. Since the company could purchase so much land, it must have the resources and technologies to stop pollution or at least reduce it. With advancing technology, there are various methods and machines which are efficient and cause less harm to the environment. Being a massive mining company means that the mining team must be headed by experts and scientists who must have researched adequately before purchasing the land. Hence more research is needed to support the conclusion.

Secondly, the author states that West Fredonia is home to many endangered species and mining on such a vast area could put these animals’ lives in danger. Well firstly, since these animals are endangered, they must be less in number and since their number is so miniscule, there is a possibility that they could be located in a small area. West Fredonia being a tropical area must be densely populated with greenery and these animals must be settled in these regions, hence it only makes sense for the company not to penetrate too deep and destroy habitats as it could be dangerous and since they have ample space, they could possibly leave these areas untouched.

Lastly, the solution provided by the author is absurd. How can one possibly know if a copper item is made by a specific company unless they label the product with their sticker which we don’t know if they do. A consumer can’t waste time by checking each and every item for the CCC sticker or label. Copper is an essential part of more or less all industries and by boycotting CCC’s products is not fair because the author dosen’t know if animals are being harmed for the raw materials of making copper.

Hence, to sum it all up the author should be more careful to list down assumptions and the solution before looking into the company or doing his/her own research.