The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Socks, Inc.

"A recent study of Dura-Socks customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite the socks' durability, our customers, on average, actually purchase new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, customers surveyed in our largest market — northeastern United States cities — say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

The above stated argument in the memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Socks, Inc is absurd and filled with many flaws. His decision to increase the company’s profits by stopping the use of Endure manufacturing process is filled with holes and could instead have detrimental effects on the company’s products.

Firstly, he claims that the customers are suggesting that the company is spending excess money on its patented Endure manufacturing process. That same process actually makes the socks durable for two years, which is an essential quality in any clothing item. Socks are regularly worn and are exposed to a lot of wear and tear, hence durability is of the utmost importance and manufacturing socks of a lower quality will in fact deteriorate the company’s image and lead to a decline in customers over a certain period of time.

Secondly, he states that despite the high durability of the socks, customers purchase Dura-Socks every 3 months. This survey of customers could have been done to a limited number of customers who are financially rich or maybe are athletes who actually need more pairs of socks for their lifestyle. Just because they buy new socks every 3 months, that doesn’t necessarily mean that the old socks are destroyed or worn out, it could mean that they need a new colour or maybe the old socks are just not up to the current fashion trends.

Lastly, the survey conducted in the northeastern cities of the united states say that the customers actually purchase Dura-socks because of the stylish appearance and its availability in many colours. This doesn’t justify why the Vice President wants to reduce the durability of the products. The customers seem to have an affinity for the brand and since they like the different shades and colours that doesn’t mean they do not like the durability of the socks. If the company compromises on its toughness of its product, this would eventually lead to a decline is customers and eventually a loss in the company.

The arguer makes no mention of the opinion of the consumers who have not participated in either the study or the survey in the northern United States cities. As the company should cater to the demands of the maximum number of its consumers, it is necessary that their opinion should also be taken into account before taking the decision to discontinue the ‘Endure’ process. Morover, the Vice President shouldn’t change the resilience of its socks by discontinuing the Endure manufacturing process, instead work on the quality of the company’s products. It is unlikely that the company’s profits would increase if the manufacturing process is discontinued and the whole argument is flawed.