The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Socks, Inc.

"A recent study of Dura-Socks customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite the socks' durability, our customers, on average, actually purchase new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, customers surveyed in our largest market — northeastern United States cities — say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

As per mentioned in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Socks, Inc., the survey held for the customers, majorly in northeastern cities, of Dura socks showed that they are squandering money on its patented Endure manufacturing process. Because despite of advertising about this process, their clients are still purchasing new Dura socks in every three months. Hence, they are in process of discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process. There are certainly couple of unwarranted assumptions author has made. I would like to describe three questions, which need to be asked in order to make the decision whether above recommendation is reasonable or not.

First, author of the published memo assumes that the study of Dura Socks customers is wholly true and unbiased. Only largest market such as northeastern United States cities is surveyed. What are the choices of customers from other parts of the country? These markets clients are not enough to predict for their sales in the country. Additionally, author prematurely assumes that sales of Dura-Socks is higher than the socks, produced by Endure manufacturing process. Even if above assumption has some merit, author can’t directly claim that Endure process is just a waste of money. Where is the evidence of the data or surveys, which have been collected about socks’ sales for both categories?

Secondly, another assumption is clearly seen that author blindly claims that durability is the only aspect customers must consider while buying the socks. In other words, though customers buy new Dura socks because they are stylish and available in different colors, how style statement is compared with durability? Clients may just want to increase the funky collections of socks by buying both types instead of prioritizing their durability. If this case is true, then authors assertion will be significantly weakened.

Finally, author also thinks that revenue from new dura-socks will take a high rise by suspending Endura manufacturing process. He clearly ignores the negative consequences of stopping the patent process. What if the profit gets declined with the suggested action plan? What can be necessary steps, which need to be taken if new Dura-Socks will not sustain in the market to pull out the profits due to lack of durability?

To conclude, there are many unwarranted assumptions are mentioned the memo and above three questions need to be answered to decide on the recommendation of discontinuing the patent process to increase the profit.