The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

As per the letter on the school board in the town of Centerville, it is mentioned that all students should take the course to learn the driving at Centerville High school. In the past couple of years, many accidents are reported where teenage drivers were seen involved. Additionally, parents of teenagers are not able to teach their children due to time constraints, might be due to work -life balance and unable to pay for driving course. So better way to resolve this problem can be the program sponsored by High School. This looks like very logical approach to solve the issue but on the closer look, there are some loopholes can be found.

First, the mentioned driving education course is mandatory for all students at Centerville High School but the references of any kind previous analysis of the surveys or collected data from those surveys have not been provided, which can justify accidents happened in the past are due negligence of teenagers. Authorities just assumed based on past few records that teenagers are responsible for accidents, which id quite unfair. It can be purely coincidence that they found involved in the accidents. Secondly, though this is a good initiative taken high school to provide a driving instruction, there is no records provided of the past trainings attended by teenagers from the town. Based on that information, teenagers and their parents can decide further whether they need this course or not.

Thirdly, as parents are unable to afford to pay for driving course, it can be very common that they are skeptical to enroll teenagers there. Eventually it will be expensive program for High School to sponsor if students don’t attend the same. It will increase the fees of the high school. Hence, the program for the students cannot be a solution as it will heavily affect the budget of students and letter does not provide any solution for this problem.

Lastly, another problem I could see that nobody can determine that rate of accidents will be mitigated at large scale even after the course. Additionally, accidents cannot be considered as only teenager’s fault, each time. They are aggressive and vulnerable due to their age. Therefore it is very much possible that even after enrolling and completing this course of driving education, they can be caught up in accidents due to rash driving or many other reasons. Therefore, the suggestion mentioned in the letter can be completely negated and better and affordable solutions needs to be provided by authorities of town of Centerville.