The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Socks, Inc.

"A recent study of Dura-Socks customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite the socks' durability, our customers, on average, actually purchase new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, customers surveyed in our largest market—northeastern United States cities—say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above demo, the vice president states that according to a survey, a customer on average buys their socks every three months and what they value most is the fashion and color of the socks rather than the durability. From this, he/she draws the conclusion that their patented Endure manufacturing process must be discontinued. However, I find this argument flawed due to the following reasons.

First, the vice-president assumes that the reason for his customers buying the socks every three months is because of their short-term "durability". This survey lacks an essential information, as to why, these customers are buying the socks again? It could be possible that they are buying to get new colors and designs to keep themselves updated with the fashion. Morever, we do not know the average cost for a pair of socks that the customers buy. It is quite possible that the customers who's survey is done have a quite high income and the socks are very economical. Hence, they do not care much about the socks being lost and readily buy new ones.

Secondly, an important point to note here is that the vice-president mentions that they do advertise their Endure manufacturing process and the durability of their products, yet after every three months the customers still stick to Dura-Socks. If durability would have been an issue, the customers would have lost faith long back and would not be continuing with Dura-Socks. Hence, we cannot simply assume that the non-durability of the product makes the customers buy their socks after an interval of a few months.

Third, the vice-president does not mention on which customers the survey for the frequency of buying their socks are done. He/She does mention the survey details when asked the customers what they value most, but not for the durability. If the survey sample is small, it is subjected to go to extreme ends and we cannot assume that it represents the entire set of the customers.

Hence, I conclude that the survey is incomplete for it lacks many of the details and the memo misses to provide essential facts like the sample size of the customers. Thus, I find the vice-president's argument flawed and full of assumptions and I do not support his/her decision of discontinuing the use of their Endure manufacturing process until complete information is gathered.