Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In my opinion, I believe using the Internet is more beneficial than solely depending upon printed materials like books and articles. I do not agree with the given topic for three reasons, which I will be discussing in the following essay.

To begin with, using printed materials for research is not economical for everyone. Generally, university students are involved in a lot of research work and are not earning during that time, whereas the books or the articles which are used for research are very costly. This put students under a lot of pressure and are required to take loans or borrow money from their parent’s or friend’s in order to buy printed materials. However, the Internet is already available at university and is very affordable. All the material which is required for research is present on the internet for free of cost. My personal experience is a great example of this. During my second year of undergraduate study, I was required to research Machine Learning, but as I was not earning at that time, I found it very difficult to acquire the required book for research. Luckily, One of my friends suggested using the internet, and I was able to find a free alternative for the book I was looking for. I was able to complete my assignment on time and even got an excellent grade for the research done. Thus, using the internet solves the problem of affordability for many students who are involved in research.

Secondly, the variety of content available on the internet is very vast. If we stick to printed materials for research, we are limited by the particular book or the article we chose. However, On the Internet, we have the option of videos, podcasts and beautiful animation explaining the topic. For instance, while doing research for my thesis related to computer science, I was stuck on a difficult topic. No matter how many books I read, I was not able to properly understand the main idea of the topic. This is when, I came across a video by a student on youtube, which helped me understand the topic. Therefore, using the internet gives us many options of learning which indirectly helps us in research.

Finally, the last reason is the time. When we use printed materials for research, it takes up a lot of our time to just get a hold of the material we are looking for. Books are not always available in all the libraries, or even might be already borrowed by another student. I vividly remember one such instance, where I had to travel to another city to get the book, I was looking for. This not only requires us to plan travelling but also takes up our time, which can be used for research. In contrast, all the information we are looking for research is just a click away on the Internet. Undoubtedly, using the Internet saves us a lot of time.

In summary, I believe, the Internet is the better way to do research. It is economical, has a variety of content, and saves a lot of time.