Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today's world." Use reasons and details to support your opinion.

No one can deny there can be both positive and negative aspects of the widespread availability of the internet. If I were forced to choose one, I would definitely choose that it is boon to humanity. It is my firm belief that internet has more positive effects than the negative effects for a number of reasons and I develop these ideas in later paragraphs.

To begin with, the most useful aspect of internet is for education. Educating oneself was never this easy. Access to the internet could have helped every human being at various aspects of their lives directly or indirectly. Internet has decreased the barrier between rich and poor. The access to free lectures through internet is a bane to students who cannot afford higher studies and provides an option of educating from home which helped women and older people to gain insight about the world. For instance, I had the dream of learning German language from high school but I had to commute 3 hours a day to the coaching center, but the internet availability moderated the cumbersome process and I learned the language from home.

Further, internet is providing people with information and can be handy in many unanticipated situations. News across the world can be known within seconds, communication with people of faraway places, and it is also a protection in some situations. For instance, one can watch cricket match live from anyplace in the world, by using tracking option in phones with internet, people can know the location of others and of specific places, video calling made lives of people moderate and happy as they can communicate with their beloved ones.

I want to mention that internet actually made lives of people smooth and calm. It made dreams accessible to some people. For instance, people due to old age refrain themselves from travelling to places they want to explore. But through internet they can gain the experience and happiness to some degree, further some people grab the clothes through online as they cannot waste their time, they can spend the time saved in many other ways.

In sum, in myriad ways the internet is helping people from all around the world. In my opinion, internet accessibility is doing more good than bad for the afore-mentioned reasons.